Practically double the resolution of conventional imaging

For your depth-extended and/or finely structured measurement objects, our telecentric objectives of the BLUE Vision series in combination with the matching blue luminous vicolux® lighting offer maximum resolution with maximum depth of field for imaging your measurement object!

 


Advantages and applications

 

The use of blue light enables maximum resolution. The diffraction blur is low.

 

Red or infrared illumination causes blurring due to strong diffraction.

 

With blue lighting, the lens can be stopped down sharply without blurring. The depth of field is thus large.  

 

In the red spectral range, the aperture must be opened further, the depth of field decreases.


Properties of the BLUE Vision components from Vision & Control



Leading image processors rely on our components

 

 

In our extensive portfolio of combinable products for machine vision specialists, you will find a large selection of telecentric BLUE Vision lenses and matching blue LED lighting.

      

 


Frequently asked questions

In industrial image processing, optical imaging is expected to provide high image sharpness with the greatest possible depth of field at the same time. 
However, these are two parameters that are partly mutually exclusive and often require compromises. If the lens is stopped down to achieve the necessary depth of field, the image becomes increasingly blurred due to diffraction. 

 

The depth of field (colloquially also depth of field) of a lens depends only on its magnification and the aperture set. Small image scales and large f-numbers mean large depth of field, small f-numbers result in high resolution. Therefore:

  • Do I need a large depth of field → small sensor with a small magnification?
  • Do I need high resolution with a flat object → large sensor with large magnification ratio

With blue light, the highest resolution is achieved in the visible spectral range. The aperture can be reduced by one f-stop for the same resolution as in the infrared spectral range, doubling the depth of field.

 

 

 

Within the visible spectrum, monochromatic image examinations with blue light are most effective. The lenses of our vicotar® BLUE Vision series are specially designed for this spectral range. - Here they deliver maximum resolution with the greatest possible depth of field.

 

 

Resolution and depth of field are two optical parameters that work against each other. The more a lens is stopped down, the more blurred its image becomes due to the increasing diffraction and consequently the less details can be resolved. Industrial image processing, however, demands both: maximum resolution with the greatest possible depth of field. The newly developed lens series "BLUE Vision" takes this demand into account. It takes advantage of the fact that the smaller the wavelength of the light used, the smaller the diffraction effects. This is reflected in the resolution in the opposite way: If the wavelength is halved, the resolution is doubled.

 

For example, if a lens at f-number 10 produces a diffraction disc of 8 micrometres radius with red light (650nm), then with blue light (450nm) it is only 5.5 micrometres, so the blur is almost a third less, which corresponds to the ratio of the wavelengths.

In addition to the fact that blue light enables much more precise image examinations, another argument in favour of using this light colour is that these light-emitting diodes have the highest efficiency compared to LEDs in other spectral ranges. They reach values of up to 70%. In contrast, the efficiency of green LEDs is only about 20%. Red LEDs are in the range of 40%. Thus, inspection with blue light is accompanied by reduced energy consumption. This is reflected, for example, in shorter exposure times or lower heat generation.

vicolux® illuminators from Vision & Control are designed for these short wavelengths of 450 nm and offer good illumination even under difficult conditions due to their large power reserve (both in continuous light and flash mode). 

 

Modern camera sensors have the maximum sensitivity in the green spectral range, it drops somewhat in the red as well as in the blue range. Our picture shows the quantum efficiency of the frequently used Sony sensor IMX304 as an example.

 

  

You can see that the sensitivity to blue light is at least equal to the red sensitivity.

The resolution of a microscope depends on the wavelength λ and the numerical aperture A of the objective.  

 

It is calculated as 0.61 λ / A. Conventional microscope objectives are available up to an aperture of 0.65, resulting in a resolution of approx. 400 nm for blue light. The maximum resolution thus corresponds approximately to the wavelength used.

Electron microscope (0.1 nm - theoretically even up to approx. 0.004 nm)

vicotar® BLUE Vision lenses are currently available for the common sensor formats from 1/3" to 1.2"(4/3").

Vision & Control is a manufacturer and developer of components for industrial image processing, therefore it is possible for us to develop lenses specifically for your applications in your series machine and to supply them reliably in the long term.

 

The BLUE Vision lens series are perfectly matched to the overall portfolio of Vision & Control GmbH. 
Lens holders, optical colour filters, UV blocking filters, tuning rings and deflection mirrors are available as accessories. 
Depending on the application, BLUE Vision lenses can be combined with telecentric illuminators, ring lights, area lights or single-mirror illuminators.

 

We look forward to your enquiry

All telecentric lenses can be found here

Productfinder

BBook your appointment in our demo lab

CONTACT

Write us a mail

 

sales@vision-control.com

You are interested in an adapted development

+49 3681 / 79 74 11

Quality is important to us!

 

Quality is a top priority for us. Vision & Control GmbH is certified according to ISO 9001.

 

All our products are produced in Germany.

 

Participation in the global GS1 system. EAN / GTIN product identification

Praktisch doppelte Auflösung gegenüber herkömmlicher Abbildung

Für Ihre tiefenausgedehnten und/oder feinstrukturierten Messobjekte bieten unsere telezentrischen Objektive der BLUE Vision-Serie in Kombination mit der passenden blau leuchtenden vicolux® Beleuchtung maximale Auflösung bei maximaler Schärfentiefe für die Abbildung Ihres Messobjektes!


Vorteile und Anwendungen

 

Die Verwendung von blauem Licht ermöglicht die maximale Auflösung. Die Beugungsunschärfe ist gering. 

 

Rote oder infrarote Beleuchtung verursacht Unschärfe durch starke Beugung.

 

Mit blauer Beleuchtung kann das Objektiv stark abgeblendet werden, ohne dass Unschärfe eintritt. Die Schärfentiefe ist dadurch groß.  

 

Im roten Spektralbereich muss die Blende weiter geöffnet werden, die Schärfentiefe sinkt.


Eigenschaften der BLUE Vision-Komponenten von Vision & Control



Führende Bildverarbeiter setzen auf unsere Komponenten

 

In unserem umfangreichen Portfolio kombinierbarer Produkte für die Spezialisten der Industriellen Bildverarbeitung finden Sie eine große Auswahl telezentrischer BLUE Vision-Objektive und dazu passender blauer LED-Beleuchtungen.

      

 


Häufig gestellte Fragen

In der industriellen Bildverarbeitung erwartet man von der optischen Abbildung hohe Bildschärfe bei gleichzeitig möglichst großer Schärfentiefe. 
Dies sind jedoch zwei Parameter, die sich zum Teil gegenseitig ausschließen und oft Kompromisse erfordern. Blendet man zum Erreichen der nötigen Schärfentiefe das Objektiv ab, wird das Bild durch die Beugung zunehmend unscharf. 

Die Schärfentiefe (umgangssprachlich auch Tiefenschärfe) eines Objektivs hängt nur von dessen  Abbildungsmaßstab und der eingestellten Blende ab. Kleine Abbildungsmaßstäbe und große Blendenzahlen bedeuten große Schärfentiefe, kleine Blendenzahlen ergeben hohe Auflösung. Deshalb gilt:

  • Brauche ich große Schärfentiefe → kleiner Sensor bei kleinem Abbildungsmaßstab
  • Brauche ich hohe Auflösung bei flachem Objekt → großer Sensor mit großem Abbildungsmaßstab

Mit blauem Licht wird die höchste Auflösung im sichtbaren Spektralbereich erreicht. Die Blende kann bei gleicher Auflösung wie im Infraroten Spektralbereich um eine Blendenstufe reduziert werden, wodurch sich die Schärfentiefe verdoppelt.

 

 

Innerhalb des sichtbaren Spektrums sind monochromatische Bilduntersuchungen mit blauem Licht am effektivsten. Die Objektive unserer vicotar® BLUE Vision-Serie sind speziell für diesen Spektralbereich konzipiert. – Hier liefern sie maximale Auflösung bei größtmöglicher Schärfentiefe.

 

Auflösung und Schärfentiefe sind zwei gegeneinander wirkende optische Parameter. Je stärker ein Objektiv abgeblendet wird, desto unschärfer wird durch die zunehmende Beugung seine Abbildung und desto weniger Details können folglich aufgelöst werden. Die industrielle Bildverarbeitung verlangt jedoch beides: maximale Auflösung bei größtmöglicher Schärfentiefe. Die neu entwickelte Objektiv-Serie „BLUE Vision“ trägt diesem Anspruch Rechnung. Dabei wird genutzt, dass Beugungseffekte umso geringer sind, je kleiner die Wellenlänge des verwendeten Lichts ist. Diese geht in umgekehrter Weise in die Auflösung ein: Halbiert sich die Wellenlänge, so verdoppelt sich die Auflösung.

 

Erzeugt beispielsweise ein Objektiv bei Blendenzahl 10 mit rotem Licht (650nm) ein Beugungsscheibchen von 8 Mikrometer Radius, dann ist es mit blauem Licht (450 nm) nur 5,5 Mikrometer groß, somit die Unschärfe um fast ein Drittel geringer, was dem Verhältnis der Wellenlängen entspricht.

Neben der Tatsache, dass das blaue Licht viel präzisere Bilduntersuchungen ermöglicht, spricht für die Anwendung dieser Lichtfarbe auch, dass diese Leuchtdioden den höchsten Wirkungsgrad im Vergleich zu LEDs anderer Spektralbereiche besitzen. Sie erreichen Werte von bis zu 70%. Hingegen beträgt die Effizienz grüner LEDs nur etwa 20%. Rote LEDs liegen im Bereich von 40%. Somit geht die Inspektion mit blauem Licht mit einem reduzierten Energieverbrauch einher. Dieser wirkt sich zum Beispiel durch kürzere erforderliche Belichtungszeiten oder einer geringeren Wärmeentwicklung aus.

vicolux® Beleuchtungen von Vision & Control sind für diese kurzen Wellenlängen von 450 nm ausgelegt und bieten durch ihre große Leistungsreserve (sowohl im Dauerlicht als auch bei Blitzbetrieb) auch unter schwierigen Bedingungen eine gute Ausleuchtung. 

Moderne Kamerasensoren weisen die maximale Empfindlichkeit im grünen Spektralbereich auf, sie fällt im roten sowie im blauen Bereich etwas ab. Unser Bild zeigt als Beispiel die Quanteneffizienz des häufig eingesetzten Sony-Sensors IMX304.

  

Man erkennt, dass die Empfindlichkeit für blaues Licht mindestens der Rotempfindlichkeit entspricht.

Die Auflösung eines Mikroskops hängt  von der Wellenlänge λ und der numerischen Apertur A des Objektivs ab.  

Sie errechnet sich zu 0,61 λ / A. Herkömmliche Mikroskopobjektive sind bis zu einer Apertur von 0,65 verfügbar, damit ergibt sich für blaues Licht eine Auflösung von ca. 400 nm. Die maximale Auflösung entspricht also etwa der verwendeten Wellenlänge.

Elektronenmikroskop (0,1 nm - theoretisch sogar bis ca. 0,004 nm)

 

vicotar® BLUE Vision Objektive sind aktuell für die gängigen Sensorformate von 1/3" bis 1.2"(4/3") verfügbar.

Vision & Control ist Hersteller und Entwickler von Komponenten der Industriellen Bildverarbeitung, daher ist es uns möglich, Objektive speziell für Ihre Anwendungen in Ihrer Serien-Maschine zu entwickeln und langfristig verlässlich zu liefern.

Die BLUE Vision-Objektivserien sind perfekt auf das Gesamt-Portfolio der Vision & Control GmbH abgestimmt. 
Als Zubehör sind Objektivhalter, optische Farbfilter, UV-Sperrfilter, Abstimmringe sowie Umlenkspiegel erhältlich. 
Je nach Anwendung können BLUE Vision-Objektive kombiniert werden mit telezentrischen Beleuchtungen, Ringlichtern, Flächenlichtern oder Eingespiegelten Beleuchtungen.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage.

Alle telezentrischen Objektive finden Sie hier

Produktfinder

Buchen Sie Ihren Termin in unserem Demolabor

KONTAKT

Schreiben Sie uns eine Mail:

sales@vision-control.com

Sie interessieren sich für eine angepasste Entwicklung:

+49 3 68 1 / 79 74 11

Qualität ist uns wichtig!

 

Qualität wird bei uns groß geschrieben. Die Vision & Control GmbH ist nach ISO 9001 zertifiziert.

 

Alle unsere Produkte werden in Deutschland produziert.